Smoothies!

I have smoothies for breakfast most days. The key to creating smoothies is to be creative and try different things (says the girl who 9 times out of time uses strawberry and banana!). I’ve included some of my favourite smoothie recipes.

Here are some overall principles:

  • I use a mix of fresh and frozen fruit. When I buy bananas and they start to ripen, I peel them, cut in half, and store in the freezer in a ziploc bag. Then I pull out a half of banana to put into a smoothie.
  • Using all frozen fruit makes it very slushy, and that’s not my favourite texture. So if I use frozen banana, I’ll use fresh strawberries (if possible).
  • I put in about a cup of almond or rice milk (and very occasionally soy milk) with the fruit. Then if it’s too thick, I add water.
  • Blend the fruit and liquid first. Then add protein and blend very briefly again. If you blend protein too long, you can damage the protein molecules
  • Adding ground flax is great. I buy whole flax seeds in bulk (WAY cheaper!), and grind them in a coffee grinder. Then I put them in a bag and freeze. Ground flax can get funky, so freeze it for it to last longer. Flax makes the smoothie thicker, so again, water helps.
  • For some smoothies, I add a little bit of maple syrup or stevia for sweetness. Probably not the best idea during the detox phase, but a little bit doesn’t hurt after!

Because I don’t eat dairy (er, am not supposed to eat dairy), I use milk alternatives in my smoothie. Almond milk is my favourite, but I also use rice milk. I try to limit soy milk and buy maybe once every couple of months.

Smoothie recipes from Dr. Turner

Acai Avocado Smoothie

Ingredients

Whey protein powder (Vanilla)

1/4 cup Avocado, Frozen

1 pkg Sambazon Acai Puree, Frozen

1 tbsp Salba

Water to desired consistency

Blueberry Avocado Smoothie

Ingredients

25  g Whey Protein Powder (Vanilla)

¼  cup Avocado, Sliced and Frozen

3/4 cup Blueberries, Frozen

1 tbsp Salba

Water to desired consistency

Anti-Aging Smoothie

Ingredients

-25gm Whey Protein Powder (Vanilla) -8 fl oz Filtered water

-1/4 cup Raw blackberries -1/2 cup Sliced strawberries

-1/2 cup Blueberries -1/2 cup Raspberries

-1 1/2 tsp Flaxseed oil

Super Satisfying Shake

Ingredients

-25 gm Whey Protein Powder (Vanilla) -8 fl oz Filtered water

-3 fl oz Pineapple juice -1/4 cup Sliced mango

-1/4 cup Sliced strawberries -1/3 small Banana (small)

-2 tsp Flaxseed oil 1 tbsp Salba

And one of my favourite smoothies from The Lunchbox Bunch

Easy Energy Almond Butter Banana Smoothie
1 cup non-dairy milk
1 frozen banana, ripe
1 Tbsp raw almond butter, not salted is pref’d
*fresh ground almond butter is best
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 Tbsp agave or maple syrup
1/2 tsp cinnamon
optional: a few dashes of cayenne
I add protein powder as well.

Share your favourite smoothie recipes!

One response to “Smoothies!

  1. I like having smoothies for an afternoon snack some days.. I put in Almond powder..basically crushed almonds…very good protein and helps to thicken a smoothie… My fav is the strawberry Banana as well…but I will add flax and coconut..I use chocolate soy milk if I am making it for my daughter as well…

Leave a Reply

