Cajun Shrimp – pre-detox meal

As I try out recipes this week, I’ll post them to help with meal planning. Today I made Cajun Shrimp with Brown Basmati rice and steamed asparagus. Delicious! This is one of my favourite shrimp dishes. And it’s EASY! It takes about 10 – 15 minutes to make. Seriously, it’s that simple!

Here’s the recipe, which I got from Dr. Turner

Cajun Shrimp

Ingredients

-2 or 3 cloves of fresh garlic, peeled

-½ tsp cumin seed

-½ tsp turmeric

-½ tsp mustard powder

-¼ cup chopped onion

-2 tbsp water

-1 cup brown basmati rice

-1 ½ tbsp apple cider vinegar

1-1 tsp chili powder

-1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

– ½ pound uncooked shrimp

Cook basmati rice as directed on the label. Mix the garlic, cumin, mustard, turmeric, and chili powder with the apple cider vinegar in a food processor. Then grind the onion to a paste. Heat the oil in a pan over low heat and add the onion paste until golden brown. Add the spices and sauté. Peel and de-vein the shrimp and add to the pan. Cook for about 5 to 7 minutes, stirring often. Add the water and salt and simmer uncovered for a few more minutes. Serve over the rice.

And seriously – I know. I need work on my food photography! It’s a little blurry, but you get the point.

UPDATE:

Had the leftovers for lunch today. Even more delicious than last night! I made a double batch so there would be leftovers – see P-L-A-N-N-I-N-G (for  change).

Leave a Reply

