Salad dressing delights

I stopped buying store-made salad dressings over a year ago. I finally discovered how much better my own can be!

Since then, I’ve been on a search for amazing salad dressing recipes. Yes, there is the option of the olive oil/lemon juice or olive oil/balsamic vinegar combinations. But I was looking for options beyond these.

Here are 3 of my favourite salad dressings.2 are from the ReFresh cookbook, and one is from my favourite website, Elana’s Pantry.

The Green Dressing is a delicious tangy dressing made from cilantro. It really adds a kick to your salad. The House Dressing is delicious – I ate this for 3 months straight last summer. And the Asian Dressing was my favourite fall dressing. It’s so easy to make. And if you haven’t tried Ume Plum vinegar….you should. I had bought a bottle and didn’t know what to do with it – until I saw this recipe. Now I’m hooked!

Enjoy!

Green Dressing – ReFresh Cookbook (Ruth Tal)

Ingredients

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp. peeled and chopped ginger root

1/4 c. rice vinegar

1 1/4 c chopped cilantro

1/4 water

2 tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp. wasabi

2 tbsp honey

Preparation

Put the garlic, ginger, rice vinegar, cilantro and water in a blender. Process until smooth. Add remaining ingredients while the blender is running. Remove only when fully liquified.


House Dressing – ReFresh Cookbook (Ruth Tal)

Ingredients

1/4 c water

1/4 apple cider vinegar

stevia (to taste)

1 tsp lemon juice (I add more)

3/4 tsp tamari (wheat free)

1/4 tsp. mustard powder

1 clove garlic

1/4 c. flax oil

3/4 c. olive oil

Preparation
In blender, mix all ingredients except oil until totally pureed. With blender running, add oil in a thin stream until dressing is emulsified.

Asian Salad Dressing (Elana’s Pantry)

Ingredients

¼ cup olive oil

2 tablespoons sesame oil

1 tablespoon ume plum vinegar

1 tablespoons agave nectar

1 tablespoon orange juice, freshly squeezed

Preparation

In a medium mason jar, combine all ingredients. Shake well until combined.

One response to “Salad dressing delights

  1. Pingback: Make your Salad Epic « Healthy SHOULD be Easy

Leave a Reply

