“Spaghetti” and meat sauce…yes I said spaghetti

I just didn’t say what kind of spaghetti…

I had the most delicious dinner. “Spaghetti” and tomato meat sauce. Spaghetti squash that is. I’ve heard people for years recommend spaghetti squash as a replacement, and thought “ya, right”. Tonight, I tried it. Delicious. And I didn’t get a full feeling afterward. It was delicious and filling, but not too filling. The best part is I have leftovers for tomorrow. Woohoo!
Here is the recipe for the sauce, courtesy of Mark’s Daily Apple.

Tomato Sauce for pasta

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground beef
1 medium white onion, diced
1 red and yellow bell pepper,  diced
2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced
1 tbs. rosemary chopped
1 tsp. thyme chopped
1 can 28 oz. crushed tomatoes
1 can 28 oz. diced tomatoes
1 can  6 oz. tomato paste
½ cup sundried tomatoes, chopped
1 cup red wine
Salt and pepper to taste
½ tsp. chili pepper flakes
1 bay leaf

Optional add-ins:
Mushrooms, zucchini or spinach

Method:
Coat pan with olive oil and add ground beef, onions, bell peppers, garlic, rosemary and thyme. Saute until ground beef turns brown.  Add remaining ingredients and let simmer. With a dish like this, patience is a virtue – the longer it simmers, the longer it gives the ingredients to mingle, creating a more robust, flavorful sauce.

I let it simmer for an hour and a half, and it was wonderful.

Spaghetti Squash

Cut squash in half and spoon out the seeds and “guts”. Place the squash on a cooking tray, cut side down. Place in a 350 degree oven for about an hour. I cooked mine in a toaster oven, and it took about an hour and 15 minutes. When tender, scrape the flesh and it will come out as strands, similar to spaghetti. Serve with sauce on top.

I know – if you look at the Detox plan you’ll notice that I did add ground beef, but have made a decision that I’m going to follow the Primal Blueprint more than the detox. And the only difference in the short term is adding red meat and cutting out grains entirely. I want to eat as clean as possible for the first 4 weeks, and then I will add back some of the red wine and dark chocolate that’s allowed on the Primal Blueprint!

I feel better this week than I have in a long time. More energy, less fog. Still don’t have that 100% clarity, but I feel great. I sleep well at night, and wake up without an alarm clock (doesn’t hurt that I don’t have to be anywhere early in the morning).

But the biggest thing? I’M NOT HUNGRY!! I can’t tell you how huge that is in light of how I would eat after dinner – for much of my life. I’m pretty sure that simple carbs have been the problem all along. Because in the evening I would get into crackers, ice cream, bread…of course, not healthy stuff. For the past week, I haven’t eaten anything after dinner. The only thing I may have is chamomile tea, and that hardly counts!

Of course, it’s only been one week. So let’s see how this goes.

One response to ““Spaghetti” and meat sauce…yes I said spaghetti

  1. Pingback: What did I eat?? « Healthy SHOULD be Easy

Leave a Reply

