9 Tips to make Healthy Easy

Why is healthy not easier?

For the most part, it takes work. Planning, shopping, cooking, chopping. (Hey that rhymes!)

And isn’t UNhealthy totally easy? Just dial 967-11-11. Stop at one of the 6,000 fast food places on the way home and pick something up for dinner. Aisles of convenience food in the grocery store (most of which contains chemicals and preservatives that aren’t good for us, not to mention the high-fructose corn syrup that lurks on so many convenience foods). Heck – you can even buy pre-cut potatoes in a bag. We don’t have time to peel and cut potatoes anymore??? (I have to admit I was disgusted the first time I saw the commercial.)

By the way, is it just me or is pretty much every convenience item made of wheat?? (Except fruit of course!) That rules that out!

So exactly how can it be easier?

I’m not gonna lie – planning has made it easier for me. Planning does take time, but saves in the overall scheme of things. And I’m working on some ideas to make planning easier too!

I’ve put together 9 tips to make eating healthy easier. Keep in mind that I’m also trying to keep the budget under control.

  1. Plan each week’s meals before the week starts. You can’t eat healthy if you don’t have healthy food on hand. I use a meal planning template, and input each day’s meals and snacks. I put all of the week’s recipes on my meal plan as well so I don’t have to go searching for them each day.
  2. Plan leftovers into your meal plan. And if you have more leftovers than you planned, you can skip one of your meals. Yay!
  3. Make your grocery list from your meal plan. When you go grocery shopping, stick to it! Stray from your list if one of your staples is on sale, but otherwise, limit the impulse shopping.
  4. Cut up your veggies as you unpack your groceries. When I get home from grocery shopping, I cut up veggies and put them in baggies in the fridge. So broccoli, peppers, cauliflower – anything that needs to be cut up can be so much easier if you do it before you put it in the fridge. I even wash lettuce and put in the salad spinner, then into a bag. During the week, reach in the bags and pull out what you need. The hard work’s already done!
  5. Plan the time consuming meals for the weekend. Plan quicker meals for the week. That way it’s easier to come home and throw dinner together. 20 Minute Supper Club is a great resource for those evening meals. Pick through and you can find lots of gluten,sugar and dairy free meals.
  6. Make sure when you cook on the weekend you have lots of leftovers! That way you can get through much of the week’s lunches just using up your leftovers. Many people recommend using the weekends to cook meals for the week and freeze them, but I can never find enough time on the weekend to do that. If you can, that’s awesome.
  7. Be flexible with your week. Even though I have meals planned by day, I move them around all the time, based on how I feel on a specific day, how much time I have (in which case I may cook a quicker meal).
  8. Include non-cooking meals into your plan. Salads, wraps (with lettuce if you’re gluten-free). Eggs are a really quick meal option (although technically cooking, I suppose). And there’s lots of great ways to cook eggs.
  9. In the summer, BBQ makes healthy meals so easy. Throw on some meat (which you could marinate in the morning). Grill veggies on the grill, or wrap in foil and throw in some coconut oil and spices. Serve with a side salad. And you have a delicious meal! For winter, we have a deluxe Foreman Grill (which also doubles as a griddle) and we cook most nights on it – easy and fast!

Share your tips in the comments below. I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

