Quick and healthy banana “ice cream”

Roll back a year, and I had pretty much a nightly date with a carton of ice cream. No – I didn’t eat the whole thing each night, but most nights after dinner I would have a couple of scoops. Healthy, eh?

I’ve since broken that pattern – mostly after the detox that I did last year. Giving up dairy hasn’t hurt the cause either. I have to admit that I’ve had a couple of indulgences over the past year, but nothing like what it was before.

When I have a craving, I’ve discovered a delicious alternative. It tastes like ice cream, but is sooooooo much healthier.

Don’t believe me? Try it for yourself!

Banana “Ice Cream”

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana

almond milk

vanilla (to taste)

Directions:

I use a hand blender, but you can use a blender as well. Put banana, and enough almond milk to be able to blend the banana into the blender. Add a dash of vanilla to taste. You could also add cocoa powder for a chocolatey taste. Blend until creamy.


Yep, that’s all there is to it!

Here’s another tip. When I buy bananas, I rarely eat them all. So I peel them, cut in half, and throw into a ziploc bag, which I then keep in the freezer. I always have frozen bananas on hand for a smoothie or to make some ice cream!

Damn – writing about the ice cream is making me hungry! Think I’m gonna go make some….

Leave a Reply

